I’m planning to make myself a knit dress this weekend, and am feeling pre-freaked out, since I haven’t sewn with knits in ages and don’t have good memories, especially of hemming! (All those wavy waves, oy!)

Atomic chic, here I come!

Atomic chic, here I come!

While the online tutorials I’ve found have been helpful (hemming through tissue paper – who knew?), I also wanted to ask you to pitch in with any ideas you might have. I’m making this cute dress from my pals at Hot Patterns in the gorgeous 1950s style print (above) I found at Sawyer Brook, and I really want to get it right.

I’ll be sewing on the old faithful Alfa my friend let me adopt; it’s got straight and zig-zag stitches. I don’t think it allows double-needle stitching, so let’s leave that out of the possible techniques, SVP.

On hand already, I have ballpoint/stretch needles, light-weight knitted fusible interfacing, and straight Stay-Tape. (I found it in my stash — my good fairy must have told me to buy it at some point, but who knows when or why!)

What do you think, sewist friends? Can you help me overcome my tricotphobia?

