(As in, my holiday was belated and so I’m just updating you now.)

As many of you know, I Am Not Mad About Xmas. All of that forced togetherness (and its polar opposite), institutionalized cheer, and overindulgence… let’s just say I tend to approach the winter holiday season with all the enthusiasm one reserves for dental work.

Add to the sense of impending doom the fact that both parcels mailed from the U.S. failed to turn up in time for Christmas, New Year’s OR Epiphany (one is, in fact, still among the missing — and both were delayed between New England and New York, not on this side of the Atlantic), and you can see why I was a fairly Grinchy Rubi.

To my surprise, I did have a good Christmas, regardless. I spent Christmas Eve with a friend’s family, who even had a few gifts for me, despite my not knowing them until that evening. Ihad Christmas Day lunch with another friend, and went for coffee and pastry with still more friends after lunch. New Year’s was quiet, but fun. I was kissed by a “camel” and I found the “figurita” in my roscón de reyes on Epiphany morning, while breakfasting with a friend. All in all, a very enjoyable holiday run.

Balthasar always was my favorite.

Balthasar always was my favorite.

One box of presents from the States plus my Reyes present from a dear friend here finally showed up today. I hauled them to Mr. Pants’ house so I could open them with company and then hauled them back home. The other box should be here sometime next week, we hope.

Best of all, Zouzou likes her present, very much indeed. She’s practically living in it!

A cave fit for a queen!

A cave fit for a queen!

I hope you all had the holidays you needed, not the ones you expected, and that 2013 is off to a good start for you. If you need me, I’ll be here on the sofa, under my new blankie.

