Today is the 99th birthday of one of the coolest women ever: my grandmother.

Of course, I’m not exactly unbiased, but consider the evidence for my claim.

  • She has a great sense of humor.
  • She is independent and fiesty. Just try to convince her not to rearrange the furniture by herself, I dare you.
  • She is a voracious reader with an insightful, curious mind.
  • She is writing the family history — and it’s an interesting, often funny read.
  • Her interest in style is undiminished. She is a very sharp dresser, and her apartment is a testimony to her easy-going good taste.
  • She has a deep and abiding faith. It’s a very good thing to be on her prayer list.
  • She lives by the Golden Rule.
  • Her other guiding principles are: “Everything (including chocolate, steak, Scotch, and blue cheese dressing) in moderation” and “Use it or lose it.”
  • She is much-beloved of her family and friends. I don’t know a soul who doesn’t like spending time with her.

So won’t you please join me in raising a (virtual) glass to her very good health?

To GrammyRubi!

 

