Chicken + cranberry sauce. Pork chops + apple sauce. Meatloaf + extra ketchup. The list goes on and on…

Mr. EastCoast PapaRubi (my step-dad) is familiarly known as The Condiment King. He cannot resist the temptation to gild the culinary lily by adding something extra to every meal. And while nobody has yet acquiesed to his request that we get him a sterling silver ketchup bottle holder just like the one Mr. Hearst had at San Simeon, we mostly humor him. Though we won’t let him have cranberries with the Mediterranean-style chicken and white bean dish that we eat a lot during the winter. Because, yeech!

So I when I sampled some of the most delicious home-made ketchup* I’ve ever eaten, at Olive et Gourmando in Montreal, two ideas immediately popped into my mind. One, I’ve got to figure out how to make this stuff. And, two, will The Condiment King approve?

While I haven’t found a recipe from the original source (anyone in Montreal want to do a little recon?) I have found a few that come close. I’ve got about a week and a half before I have to go back to teaching, so it’s time to get into the kitchen and see what I can come up with. I’ll keep you posted!

*It wasn’t Quebec’s famous “ketchup aux fruits” without which nobody should eat a meat pie (tourtiere), but a much tastier, sexier version of the stuff we all grew up putting on our french fries.

