I rarely buy a whole Christmas album any more. Most times, I’d rather listen to my Giant Xmas Mix (135 songs and counting). But there are a few that deserve the spend. Some of these are brand new, and others are old chestnuts (if you’ll pardon the semi-pun). Listen up!

Nick Lowe, Quality Street   Just as delicious as the goodies in the purple box.

Tracey Thorn, Tinsel and Lights   I only bought one cut when I came out last year. I’ll be remedying that mistake — this is a gem.

David Ian, Vintage Christmas and Vintage Christmas Wonderland   Just right for a grown-up, intimate Christmas Eve dinner. Buy both!

The Roches, We Three Kings   Wonderful from start to finish. I even like their version of “Little Drummer Boy”!

Annie Lennox, A Christmas Cornucopia   All classics, delivered with heart and soul. (Stop the clip just before the silly interview at the end…)

The Chieftans, The Bells of Dublin  Features my very favorite righteously angry Christmas song, “The Rebel Jesus.” (The video is a little light on images, but that way there’s nothing to get in the way of the lyrics.)

Do you have any recommendations you’d add to my list?

 

