A detail of my yummy rug, not done justice by the cellphone pic, alas.

A detail of my yummy rug, not done justice by the cellphone pic, alas.

I’ve been thinking a lot about color of late — since I brought home my beautiful handmade rug, the colors in the living room have shifted some. The red chair was too red, and so now has a new off-white slipcover. The grey sofa is feeling “meh”; though there’s no money to buy a new cover right now, I’ve got my eye on one in a color called “black rose” which is a sort of rose/burgundy/black/cream marl. I love it and take out my little swatch once in a while to visit with it. And the green matte around the watercolor that felt too green when I hung it over the red chair now feels perfect, reflected in the rug but not clashing with the chair.

Chavez Ravine, 1949 -- just before they tore the little houses down to build Dodgers' Stadium. By my paternal grandmother.

Chavez Ravine, 1949 — just before they tore the little houses down to build Dodgers’ Stadium. By my paternal grandmother. Not the greatest photo, either.

On the other hand, I’m feeling a bit oppressed by the big white blank behind my bed. I’ve been struggling to find a way to “dress” it, and I think I may finally have hit on a solution. A while back, Neki worked a wonderful transformation on a photo I’d taken, and I was going to print it out on canvas and have it framed to hang over the bed. But I just wasn’t convinced, and it was a lot of money, so I decided to wait and think.

My original photo

My original photo

My photo, 'Nekified'

My photo, ‘Nekified’

Rather than printing the photo on canvas as if it were a painting and framing it, I’m going to print it on fabric that can be run through an inkjet printer, playing with the orientation of the image and cropping out different parts of it. Then I’ll make a paneled wall hanging that I can put on a curtain rod behind the bed. I think it’s going to be the perfect solution to a question that’s been vexing me for months now. I promise to post the reveal if it works out!

The inspiration for my wall-hanging idea. (original from Martha Stewart)

The inspiration for my wall-hanging idea. (original from Martha Stewart)

