This week, I’ve been hosting a young woman, the daughter of a friend, who’s recently arrived in Madrid. She’ll be a teaching aide at an elementary school, starting next week. Right now she’s getting herself organized and waiting to be able to move into the room she’s rented, discovering the neighborhood, seeing how Madrid is different from Granada, where she lived last year doing study-abroad…

It’s nice to be able to contribute to her “launch.” So far, I’ve introduced her to my favorite plaza (Olavide) for a drink on a terraza, my favorite soap opera (Amar Es Para Siempre) and a few of my favorite people. And I’m looking forward to hearing about the adventures she has as she navigates the city, the people, and expat life.

What fun it is to have her here! Something tells me Madrid is going to get under her skin.

 

